Free Reachout Wireless Government Assisted Cell Phone, for Low Income.

October 11, 2009

It looks like another cell phone carrier, Nexus Communications Inc., has stepped up to the plate and is offering a government assisted cell phone, completely free to those who qualify.

www.reachoutwireless.com now is another place to go besides www.safelinkwireless.com, to get a free cell phone, charger and a free supply of minutes every month.

These phones are available to anyone who qualifies and the only catch is that no matter which one you choose to go with, you can only have one free phone per household. Even if you choose one carrier and someone else in the house qualifies and wants the other one, you are not allowed more than one free phone per household, no matter what plan you choose, so someone will have to pass.

An easy way to get around that, is to buy a minute phone (some are now as cheep as $9.95)  and split the costs with the person who has the free phone. If you use them only when needed and cut out the chatting, now two people can have reliable communication at an affordable rate, without any contracts.

To get your free phone Click on one of the following links. Then follow their instructions.  SIMPLE!

www.reachoutwireless.com

www.safelinkwireless.com

Bankruptnooption.

Now, here is a little stress reliever to ease your day.

  1. sandy
    January 30, 2010 at 12:23 AM

    Am I supposed to do something special because my free phone says money being deleted not minutes that is going fast its 22 cents a minute can anyone answer that for me ?

    • bankruptnooption
      January 30, 2010 at 3:38 PM

      Sandy,
      Call the company and they can explain their system to you. Whether it’s minutes or dollars, as you know, they only give so many free per month, so everyone who has one, has to learn to limit the talk to important calls only, to stretch the time or dollars allowed per month.
      When you call them, also ask them how you can buy extra time, if you would like to.

      Bankruptnooption.

  2. mike
    January 25, 2010 at 4:59 PM

    how many minuters do u get a month or does that vary?

    • bankruptnooption
      January 25, 2010 at 5:55 PM

      I can’t find mcneill on Google Maps and you get 68 minutes every month.

    • mike
      January 27, 2010 at 1:44 PM

      in mississippi between picayune and poplarville

      • bankruptnooption
        January 27, 2010 at 6:05 PM

        Mike,
        As far as I know, the phone is available no matter where you live. Call them and ask. Their numbers are, Reachout Wireless – 1-877-870-9444 or Safelink Wireless – 1-800-SAFELINK. They should be able to tell you the exact availability.
        Moneys Tight. is not a part of either or any companies, all we do is pass on things that can help a few people out.
        Thanks and Good luck in getting your phone.

  3. January 19, 2010 at 11:53 AM

    Reason why I need this my husband was in an explosion he was sent to the burn unit ku med he’s home I was in an accident in July my truck was totaled out so I’m driving a junky car back an forth to appointments an I need this phone in case I have problems with car.
    I receive foodstamps an my family is very low income. I need this phone for when I’m transporting family.

    • bankruptnooption
      January 19, 2010 at 5:59 PM

      Merridee,
      All you can do is go to one of the free phone sites and apply. There is no reason not to, unless you have a record and are wanted by the police. If you don’t qualify there is no penalty and life goes on. There is no stories needed to qualify.
      You will either fall in to their low income category or not, Simple.
      So, Click on the “FREE PHONE” tab on top of the page and click on a phone company and apply.
      I hope your husband does well and life gets easier.
      Bankruptnooption.

  4. keisha
    January 18, 2010 at 7:36 PM

    It is hard to get into this program for a free phone and i know i qualify i just wanted to get one for my 65 yr old mother who needs it as much as i do please respone asap.

    • bankruptnooption
      January 19, 2010 at 7:14 AM

      Here are the specifics,
      Only One phone per Household (address), If your mom qualifies and you qualify also you both can’t get one if you live in the same home. If you live apart from each other than you should both be able to get one. If your mom doesn’t qualify and you do and you want her to have one, than your only option is for you to get the phone and you could lend it to her to use when she needs one.
      Hope this helps.
      Bankruptnooption.

  5. quanda
    January 12, 2010 at 12:42 PM

    I don’t have any more minutes on my phone so do I have to put them on there myself or wait til the free monthly minutes are place on there?

    • bankruptnooption
      January 12, 2010 at 6:20 PM

      Quanda,
      If you have the money and you feel you need the phone before the beginning of next month, then buy a card and put more minutes on it. If you can’t afford to do that, then wait until the beginning of next month for your free minutes.
      It really depends on your budget. You should make up a budget and that will tell you whether or not you can afford to put minutes on your phone.
      For a quick estimate total up everything you have to spend money on this month—Bills, Clothes, Gas, Food, Rent, Everything! Make sure you didn’t miss ANYTHING you will pay for this month.
      Now add up all the money you will get this month and include any extra money you have stuffed in a pillow or in the bank. Now subtract the total of what you owe from the total of your money. Look at what you have left and decide if you want to buy more minutes for your phone!
      Simple Hey.
      Happy budgeting!
      Bankruptnooption.

  6. Victoria
    January 12, 2010 at 2:06 AM

    hello!I am currently pregnant this time and due date is early april 2010 and have no job.I am depending to my husband right now.Good thing,he goes back to work again after the laid off.I got my WIC bridge card and medicaid card that helps me a lot nowadays.We got this card because of my husband low income.
    Now my question is,I want a free cellphone.Do u think i can get one? If my medicaid stop after i deliver my baby,do you think am still qualified for this free phone since april is close now when am applying for a free phone?
    I really appreciate to hear for your response on this matter.Thank you and may god bless:)

    • bankruptnooption
      January 12, 2010 at 7:13 AM

      Victoria,
      The only qualification for the phone is that your household is Low Income. ( Yours and your husbands incomes added together). That will qualify one of you for a full year. (They only allow one phone per household). Then you have to re-qualify when the year is up. As long as your household stays low Income, you will be able to get one as long as the offer is valid. Both phone providers accept several ways of proving low income, so go to one of the sites in the FREE PHONE!!! tab at the top of the page and apply.
      Good Luck.
      Bankruptnooption.

  7. bankruptnooption
    January 8, 2010 at 6:41 PM

    LOOK UP!

  8. pierre
    December 31, 2009 at 2:34 PM

    Phone wont work needs to be replaced

    • bankruptnooption
      December 31, 2009 at 7:33 PM

      Contact your phones service provider. The number is on the web site you visited to get the phone. It is probably in the manual that came with the phone.
      Here at Moneys Tight. we are not affiliated with any companies at all. We are just here to pass on help full information to all those who need it.

      Good Luck.
      Bankruptnooption.

  9. mary
    December 25, 2009 at 11:13 PM

    its a great idea to recieve this fantastic phone thats required for each and everyone of us.

    • bankruptnooption
      December 26, 2009 at 12:33 AM

      Mary, It truly is a great thing the government and the cell carriers are doing, by helping low income citizens (it’s not required for everyone) afford a cell phone in this rough economy. So many people have lost their regular jobs and have had to take on lower paying jobs just to try to get by. This allows those unfortunate souls who have been affected by the recession, who had to drop some necessities (like having a phone) to pay other bills, to still yet have a phone to coordinate their daily tasks and business, while struggling on the lesser paid wages.
      Sure it’s paid for by taxpayers and cell companies, but it’s just one little thing of not many that is keeping America together right now.
      Besides, Isn’t it nice to know, that anyone in America who looses their high paying job and ends up in a low income bracket, will have assistance waiting for them as far as phone contacts go!
      Now the government should step up to the plate with more free programs in other aspects for those poor unfortunate souls, because you never know when you may become one of them, as I did.
      Bankruptnooption.

  10. doritha m.h.
    December 17, 2009 at 3:05 PM

    I want to apply for the free cell phone services provided by reachout but don’t know how to apply. i do receive government assistance

    • bankruptnooption
      December 17, 2009 at 6:23 PM

      Hi Doritha,
      Just click on one of the links in the article to sign up. Then follow their instructions and they will let you know if you qualify for the phone and sign you up if you do.
      Bankruptnooption

  11. Claudette
    December 11, 2009 at 4:32 PM

    Please add FREE mintues on my phone for the
    month of December 2009. Thank You, C. J

    • bankruptnooption
      December 12, 2009 at 12:37 AM

      Claudette,
      You have to call your service provider that sent you your phone and tell them that you didn’t get your minutes this month.
      They will straighten things out for you.
      Bankruptnooption.

  12. calinda
    December 11, 2009 at 2:21 PM

    hello my name is Calinda. It’s hard right now, so i need a phone. I think it’s a wonderful thing, you helping people that need it!

  13. Cedric
    December 11, 2009 at 1:49 PM

    Hi my name is Cedric I had a stroke back in February.I haven’t worked since .My disability was denied.I Really need a cell phone to make call to my doctor, caseworker.so I will not have to go around using other people phones can you help me out.

  14. annette
    December 2, 2009 at 1:37 PM

    good that the government is giving away free cellphone so the employer can get in-touch with people who need a job to take care of them self.

  15. nashmy
    November 25, 2009 at 5:00 PM

    I am very great-full for all your help.

    • bankruptnooption
      November 25, 2009 at 10:56 PM

      Thanks for the kind words Sirena and Nashmy. That’s why we are here, so we can help. Tell your friends about us and we welcome your return visits to Moneys Tight, as we are regularly adding new info and stories.
      Don’t forget to bookmark us also.
      Bankruptnooption.

  16. sirena
    November 21, 2009 at 12:55 PM

    I Think this is a great thing you all are doing

  17. CAROL
    November 6, 2009 at 10:18 AM

    HI MY NAME IS CAROL, I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITH TWO KIDS.I LOST MY JOB,I HAVENT.BEEN WORKING. IT’S BEEN,OVER TWO MONTHS.NOW I HAVE NO JOB NO CELLPHONE.AND I AM, THREE MONTHS BEHIND ON ALL MY BILLS COULD YOU PLEASE HELP ME WITH ASSISTANCE.

    • bankruptnooption
      November 6, 2009 at 6:06 PM

      Carol,
      It’s rough, I am there also and fully feel your pain. First file with the unemployment agency in your state. Then check out the GET HELP page and check out the government links. There are many government programs and you may qualify for some. Follow their directions and links.
      When I became jobless I had to give up everything that was not an absolute necessity from my budget right away, and so do you. Call on any bill or payment you are behind on and ask them for assistance, most are willing to work with you.
      Now update your resume and post it on as many FREE and REPUTABLE job sites as you can, checking them daily and talk about job openings with others you know who are laid off, both could lead to a new job.
      Now visit Pantrynet.org, use their PANTRY LOCATOR on the left of their home page and find all the food pantry’s in your area. They give out free groceries, just ask and follow their rules. Call all of them if there is more than one. You can use as many as you need. Local churches are starting to help also.
      Lastly, seek as much help from family and friends as you can get. But MAKE SURE YOU PAY THEM BACK when you can!!!!
      I created this site to provide as much useful and also money saving information for everyone who needs it, because I have used it all myself.
      I hope this helps and all us millions can do right now, is hope for better days to come!
      Together America, We Will Survive!
      Bankruptnooption.

    • bankruptnooption
      December 12, 2009 at 12:50 AM

      Carol,
      I started a new page for people who need help and need it now. Please go to the GET HELP page and try out all the links to see just exactly what they are offering. I will be adding more as I come across them.
      Good Luck for Now.
      Bankruptnooption.

  18. JONATHAN OWENS
    November 1, 2009 at 5:01 PM

    I HAVE BEEN SICK FOR SIX MONTHS OR MORE, NO JOB AND I NEED A PHONE. PLEASE HELP ME, I NEED MONEY FOR RENT TO I AM TWO MONTH BEHIND. IF YOU CAN HELP ME PLEASE DO ON BOTH PARTS. PHONE, THE RENT.

    • bankruptnooption
      November 1, 2009 at 7:13 PM

      Jonathan,
      The government has programs that may help. Check out the links on our “GET HELP” and “LINKS” pages, hopefully some will help and make sure that you have filed for unemployment in your state.
      It’s tough and there are millions out there trying to save whatever they can, who need help as you and I.
      When I was laid off the kind of info we have on this site kept me going a little while longer before I lost my house. One can only take it day by day and go with what happens.
      Hoping for better times America,
      Bankruptnooption.

  19. October 26, 2009 at 4:41 PM

    I for got I all ready have lifeline its with my land line phone

    • bankruptnooption
      December 12, 2009 at 1:01 AM

      Carol,
      If you already have Lifeline than you can not get the free cell phone. They only allow one or the other.
      Sad but True.
      Bankruptnooption.

    • iyanna
      January 1, 2010 at 3:44 PM

      how do i get one

  20. October 21, 2009 at 7:32 PM

    where can I purchase cards for additional minutes Detroit, MI area ?

    • bankruptnooption
      October 21, 2009 at 9:07 PM

      You can purchase phone cards online by clicking the following link, Reachout Wireless Cards.
      or this one, Moneygram Minutes.
      You can get a card at any MoneyGram location you know of. There is a location finder at the bottom of the MoneyGram link.
      Hope this helps.
      Just a note; The free phone offered by Safelink wireless uses Tracphone cards sold in any local store that sells phone cards. Here is their link, Safelink.
      Bankruptnooption.

  21. REZELL ELLIS
    October 20, 2009 at 4:32 PM

    I WANT THE FREE PHONE

  1. October 13, 2009 at 10:04 PM
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

