Home > Businesses, Good or Bad., Everyone Speak Up., Just for Discussion. > Totino’s Pizza Rolls, 40 Count or is it?

Totino’s Pizza Rolls, 40 Count or is it?

I am writing this from my personal experience with the brand and this goes for every other manufacturer who places a count number and weight on the product they manufacture.

I personally have been eating Totino’s Pizza Rolls off and on now for tens of years, ever since they broke into the market. They are just the most tastiest little bites of heaven that anyone has ever created in a Pizza tasting bite-sized form, Gotta Love Em! If they would have a contest to win Pizza Rolls for life, I would have entered it a gajillion times.

As a matter of fact, at one point I was told that if I kept eating them like I was, that I was going to turn into one of those bite sized tasty morsels myself. But it hasn’t happened yet. Darn.

Now here’s the ritual. I open the bag and pour them out onto a piece of aluminum foil atop of my toaster oven rack, where I proceed to give them all the space they need by lining them up like little soldiers standing at attention.

Before I slide the rack into my 425 degree preheated oven, I always get this insatiable urge to count those tiny morsels that were poured from the freshly opened bag and I have noticed two very definite things have taken place over the years.

A few years after they came out, and I don’t remember if the weight was on the bag then, but each of those tasty little bites were starting to get a little more empty.

Now I know that for every item produced in this country by any manufacturer, there is a cost involved with the production of the item.  The items I am referring to here, are things that are produced with a mix of ingredients.

If a manufacturer were to, lets say cut down on the amount of filling they put in each individual item that goes toward the count on the bag, than for each bag they produce, they may save enough of the ingredients to fill more bags, thus producing more with the same amount of stuff. Lets say they are able to fill 20 extra bags a day by doing that, they have not only lowered  the cost of production, but also increased their profits.

I have noticed this problem has since returned almost to normal over the years and I hope I will never see it happen again.

The other thing I noticed was the count in the beginning was usually close to 40, sometimes just over or under. Then after a couple of years the bag count started to average less than 40, with 40 or over not occurring much at all.

So I like many consumers, went on strike for a while. Since then I have returned to eating them off and on and still end up with the bags being short more of the time.

But how can the weight be consistent and the count vary that much over the years.? I have never weighed the bags but have counted most of the bags I have eaten and most of the time the actual count is lower. I guess it’s OK if the weight they give the consumer is always the same in every bag and the weight is accurate.

But why would a manufacturer pick a number that is consistently more than what’s in the bag? Why don’t they either up the weight a little so more are put into the bag or lower the count? Then the average number in the bags will be closer to their labeled count. Is this a form of deception?

You can not justify saying there are roughly x amount in the bag when more often than not there are less than that. If the labeled count is 40 approximately, than the weight should consistently put a count above or below that number for the weight and count to actually be true.

Every time I go back to those great tasting treats I end up counting them and once again I become a dissatisfied consumer, ready to throw the bag out the window.

Listen up Manufacturers, Don’t tell America there are approximately x amount in the bag when the actual count and weight doesn’t reflect that consistently. That’s sorta like the butcher who weighs your meat and has his thumb on the back edge of the scale where you can’t see it. Every customer ends up paying for a little extra meat they don’t get.

The actual count stated on the product must average that number for the count to be true to the weight. Otherwise, sell them strictly by weight alone and drop the count, you all know the rules for that.

If they are going to be consistently under the count you say, than it’s time you took your thumb off the scale and dropped your price by that much to match.

But they are great and until I start counting an average that reflects the labeled count, I will continue to only intermittently sample those tiny bites of scrumdillyiciouse goodness, but not near as frequently, because as an American consumer I absolutely hate to pay for something that I am not getting!

And that’s only my experience and opinion.

HOT TIP>>>>> As a consumer, you have to watch out for things like this happening, because you may end up wasting your hard earned money on something less than you thought you were getting. Doing so will save you money on your budget in the long run.

Bankruptnooption.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

